How to Get an Arizona Birth Certificate

In order to obtain a Birth Certificate in Arizona you may do it several different ways as long as you have the proper identification and documentation that is needed to obtain a copy. Only a person that is 18 years of age or older may obtain a copy of a Birth Certificate.

Arizona is a “closed record “state that means that vital records are not public record. Arizona law restricts the public‘s access to vital records to protect the confidentiality rights of the citizens of Arizona.

Only the following people can obtain a copy of a Birth Certificate in Arizona, they are:

  • Registrant (self) is able to obtain a copy of their own Birth Certificate as long as certain criteria are met.  Such as:

1. They are over 18 years of age.
2. They have submitted a signed application.
3. They provide a valid government issued identification or a notarized signature on the application.
4. They have the appropriate fee.

  • Parents of a child can receive a certified copy of a Birth Certificate as long as they meet the criteria and can provide the need material, such as
  • The Parent named on the Birth Certificate.
  • A Father who is not named on the birth certificate is eligible if he can provide a court order naming him as the father.
  • If the court order provided directs the Office of Vital Records to add the father to the child’s birth certificate, the certificate must then be amended to include the father before the certificate is issued.
  • The Parent must submit a signed application.
  • The Parent must provide a government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  • The Parent submits the appropriate fee.
  • A person ‘s Spouse is eligible to receive a copy of his/her spouse’s birth certificate as long as :

1. The spouse of the person can provide a notarized letter of permission signed by the registrant, if it’s not notarized then a copy of the registrant’s government issued ID must be presented along with the letter.
2. The spouse must submit verification that he/she is eligible by showing poof by having a copy of their marriage certificate, bank statement vehicle registration, and utility bill with both names on it.
3. The Spouse must submit a signed application.
4. Have a government issued ID.
5. The proper fee.

  • The Grandparent of the registrant is eligible to receive a copy of their grandchild’s birth certificate as long as they have the proper documentation and meet the criteria.
  • The grandparents must provide the birth certificate of their child , the parent who is named on the registrants birth certificate
  • If the grandparent’s child (mother or father named on the registrant’s certificate) was born in Arizona, provide the name and date of birth of that child for verification in the EBS.
  • The grandparent must submit a signed application for the birth certificate.
  • The grandparent must submit a valid government ID.
  • The grandparent must submit the proper fee for obtaining a copy.
  • An Adult Child of a registrant is eligible to receive a copy of the birth certificate along as they  :

1. The adult must be 18 years of age.
2. The adult child must

  • Produce a copy of his/her birth certificate which names the registrant as the parent of the applicant
  • If the adult child was born in Arizona , a search can be done on the EBS for the adult child’s record to verify the names on the record as the parent of the applicant

3. The adult child must submit a signed application to obtain a copy of the birth certificate.
4. The adult parent must submit a government issued ID.
5. The adult child submits the appropriate fee.

  • The Adult Brother or Sister of a registrant is also eligible to receive a copy of his/her sibling’s birth certificate if all the following criteria have been met.
  • The adult brother or sister must be at least 18 years of age.
  • The adult brother or sister must produce a copy of his / her birth certificate which shows at least one common parent shared by the applicant and registrant
  • If the adult brother or sister child was born in Arizona and a search can be done on the EBS for the adult brother or sister’s record to verify at least one common parent is shared by the applicant
  • The adult brother or sister must submit a signed application for a copy of the birth certificate.
  • The adult brother or sister must submit a valid government ID.
  • The adult brother or sister must also submit the proper fee for obtaining a copy.

 

  • A Guardian Having Legal Custody or Control of a minor Child is also eligible to receive a copy of his/her birth certificate after the criteria is met and proved.
  • The guardian must provide a copy of the Order for Permanent Guardianship of the minor registrant or provide a copy of the Order for Temporary Guardianship of the minor registrant and the applicant is filed within the timeframe of the temporary order.
  • The guardian must also submit a signed application for the birth certificate.
  • The guardian must also submit the proper fee and have a valid government ID.

 

Foster Parents of a minor child is also eligible to receive a copy of his/ her birth certificate. They must provide the following:

  • The Foster parent must provide a letter on letterhead from the Child Protective Services caseworker which states the child is still in the care of the foster parent, along with a photo copy of the caseworker’s government issued employee ID. The letter must state the child’s name, date of birth, and the foster parent’s name, the letter must also be signed by the caseworker, and also must be dated within the last 30 days or provide a copy of the Order for Temporary Guardianship of the minor registrant and the application is filed within the allowed timeframe of the temporary order.
  • The guardian must submit a signed application, along with a valid government issued ID and proper payment for the birth certificate.

An Attorney Representing the Registrant can also obtain a copy as long as they have a letter of request on his/her letterhead stating their professional relationship to the registrant or registrant’s parent if the registrant is a minor, signed by the attorney and containing the attorney’s bar number . The attorney must also provide documentation stating the attorney has been retained by the registrant and must also submit the appropriate fee.

An Attorney Representing the Biological Parents in an Adoption Proceeding is also eligible to receive a copy of the registrants birth pre-adoption birth certificate if all the criteria is met such as:

  • The attorney must submit a letter of request on his/her letterhead stating their professional relationship to the registrant’s parent, signed by the attorney also and containing the attorney’s bar number.
  • The attorney must also provide documentation stating the attorney has been retained by the registrant or the registrant’s parent if the registrant is a minor or the attorney can have the biological parent complete the Office of Vital Records birth application and instruct the parent to enter the attorney ‘s name and address on the application. Also the attorney must submit the proper fee.

Now that you know a bit about who can obtain a copy let me touch on a few places in Arizona that you can go to obtain a copy in person  and the fee for doing so.

The following is a list of places you can go in Arizona to obtain a copy of a Birth Certificate.
Apache County Health Department
75 W. Cleveland Street
St. Johns, Arizona, 85935
Phone (928) 337-7668
Payment options: cash or money order
Mail to: P.O. Box 697
St. Johns, AZ 85936
The fee ranges from $10.00 to $23.00

Cochise County Health Department
1415 Melody Lane, Bldg. A
Bisbee, Arizona  85603-3037
Phone (520) 432-9400
Payment options: cash, money order, personal check, credit card
The fee ranges from $10.00 to $23.00

Cochise County Health Department
4115 E. Foothills Drive
Sierra Vista, Arizona 85635
Phone (520)803-3900
Payment options: cash, money order, personal check, credit card

Coconino County Public Health Services District
2625 North King Street
Flagstaff, Arizona 86004
IN PERSON ONLY!
Monday – Friday
9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Closed 11:00 to 12:00 for lunch
Phone (928) 679-7272
Payment options: cash, money order, personal check, credit card
The fee ranges from $15.00 to $23.00
Graham County Health Department
820 West Main
Safford, Arizona 85546
Phone (928) 428-4441
Payment options: cash, money order, personal check
The fee ranges from $10.00 to $23.00

Greenlee County Health Department
Office of Vital Registration
253 5th Street
Clifton, Arizona 85533
Phone (928) 865-2601
Payment options: cash, money order
Mail to: P.O. Box 936
Clifton, AZ 85533
The fee ranges from $15.00 to $25.00
Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration
Department of Public Health
3221 N. 16th Street, Suite 100
Phoenix, Arizona 85016
Or: 3303 W. Thomas Rd, Suite 200B
Phoenix, AZ 85017
Phone (602) 506-6805
Payment option: cash, credit card, money order, personal check with identification
Mail to: P.O. Box 2111
Phoenix, AZ 85001
The fee ranges from $15.00 to $25.00

Navajo County Health Department
117 East Buffalo Street
Holbrook, Arizona 86025
Phone (928) 524-4750
Payment options: money order, personal check
Monday – Thursday
7:00a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Closed Fridays
Appointment Only!
The fee ranges from $ 10.00 to $ 23.00
Pima County Health Department
Office of Vital Records
3950 S. Country Club Road Suite. 100
Tucson, Arizona 85714
Phone (520) 866-7054
Payment options: cash, credit card, debit card, money order and personal check with guarantee and ID
The fee ranges from $ 15.00 to $ 25.00

Pinal County Health Department
P.O. Box 2945
500 S. Central Avenue
Florence, AZ 85232
Phone (520) 866-7054
Or 1-800-231-8499
Payment options: cash, money order, personal check
The fee ranges from $10.00 to $23.00
Yavapai County Health Department
1090 Commerce
Prescott, Arizona 86305
By MAIL ONLY!
Corrections are done by APPOINTMENT ONLY!
Phone (928) 771-3125
Payment options: cash, money order, personal check
The fee ranges from $10.00 to $ 23.00

Yuma County Health Services District
Vital Records Dept.
2200 W. 28th Street
Yuma, Arizona 85364
Phone (928) 317-4530
Payment options: cash, money order
The fee ranges from $10.00 to $ 23.00

State Office of Vital Records Fee’s range from $5.00 to $23.00

To be able to apply for a Birth certificate in person you will need to have with you:
A valid government issued picture ID and all documentation that is required and the appropriate fee in the appropriate form of payment.

When applying for a Birth Certificate by Mail you must mail in the following:

A completed Application for Certified Birth Certificate
A copy of your government issued ID
And the appropriate fee amount in the appropriate payment type

The Arizona Department of Health Services, Offices of Vital Records does not accept online orders. Also there will be an Additional Fee for Expedited Services.

In addition to the cost of the certificate the following charges will be added for expedited services:

Expedited Service fee is $ 8.00 per transaction
UPS delivery fee within 48 contiguous continental states is $18.50 per transaction
UPS delivery fee for Canada and Mexico is $ 26.50 per transaction
UPS delivery fee for Alaska, Puerto Rico, and Hawaii is $ 25.50 per transaction
UPS delivery fee for worldwide express is $37.00 per transaction

Hopefully now you will have the necessary information if you want to obtain a copy of a Birth Certificate in Arizona. For more information visit the ADHS.